#vuecember2020 #frontend

Storybook

We use Storybook in every project to showcase our components separately and make them testable. Why we do this? Here are some advantages of using it:

Encapsulated components

We initially develop components only in Storybook, instead of integrating them directly into the interface. This lets us develop them in an ideally encapsulated environment - because Storybook is the first place of use for the components we build. The actual use in the interface follows later on.

This encapsulation forces every developer to design a useful data interface for the respective component. It also makes it very easy to avoid mixing data logic and presentation logic. This decoupling facilitates refactoring later on, because only the data or the representation layer has to be touched.

Furthermore, we can ensure within Storybook that the desired responsive behaviour is implemented correctly.

Easier QA

By providing Storybook during deployment in addition to the actual interface, the handover of components is much easier than without it. We are able to send a specific link to our UX/UI designers and all other parties involved. They can view the components separately and put them in all possible states that are necessary. Without Storybook, it is often difficult to create a specific component state in the actual interface.

image2020-12-8_14-42-0.png

This work has been made even easier by the still quite new Controls Addon. The conversion of stories from the previous Knobs addon has already been carried out in various projects and has noticeably streamlined the story creation process.

Visual Regression Tests

In some projects we also use Storybook stories to perform visual regression tests with the storyshots addon. By encapsulating the components, screenshots of the components can be created rather easily in different viewports. We then compare them to some base screenshots within our CI. This way we ensure that components are not accidentally changed visually.

#vuecember2020 #frontend

Storybook

Wir nutzen in jedem Projekt Storybook, um unsere Komponenten dort separat darzustellen und testbar zu machen. Warum wir das machen? Hier sind die Vorteile, die sich dadurch für uns ergeben:

Gekapselte Komponenten

Wir entwickeln Komponenten zunächst nur in Storybook, statt sie direkt im Interface einzubinden. Dadurch sind wir gezwungen, sie direkt in einem ideal gekapselten Umfeld zu entwickeln – denn Storybook ist für die Komponenten, die wir bauen, der erste Einsatzort. Die tatsächliche Verwendung im späteren Interface folgt später.

Durch diese Kapselung ist jeder Entwickler gezwungen, eine sinnvolle Schnittstelle für die jeweilige Komponente zu entwerfen. Zudem ist es so sehr einfach möglich, eine Vermischung zwischen Datenlogik und Darstellungslogik zu vermeiden. Diese Entkopplung erleichtert später das Refactoring, da nur der Daten- oder der Darstellungslayer angefasst werden muss.

Zudem können wir innerhalb Storybooks sicherstellen, dass das gewünschte responsive Verhalten korrekt implementiert ist.

Einfachere QA

Indem wir in den Projekten neben dem eigentlichen Interface auch Storybook beim Deployment zur Verfügung stellen, lässt sich die Abnahme der Komponenten wesentlich leichter gestalten. Wir sind in der Lage, unseren UX/UI-Designern und allen anderen Beteiligten einen spezifischen Link zu schicken. Dort können sie die Komponenten gesondert betrachten und sie in alle möglichen Zustände bringen, die nötig sind. Ohne Storybook ist es häufig schwierig, im tatsächlichen Interface einen bestimmten Komponenten-Zustand herzustellen.

image2020-12-8_14-42-0.png

Durch das noch recht neue Controls-Addon ist diese Arbeit nochmals erleichtert worden. Die Umstellung der Stories vom bisherigen Knobs-Addon ist schon in diversen Projekten erfolgt und hat den Erstellungsprozess der Stories spürbar verschlankt.

Visual Regression Tests

In einigen Projekten nutzen wir die Storybook-Stories zudem, um Visual Regression Tests mit Hilfe des Storyshots-Addons durchzuführen. Durch die Kapselung der Komponenten lassen sich sehr gut in verschiedenen Viewports Screenshots der Komponenten erstellen, die wir mit einem Grundsatz an Screenshots abgleichen. Dadurch stellen wir in unserer CI sicher, dass Komponenten nicht aus Versehen visuell geändert werden.