#ux

Remote usability testing vs. lab testing: 4 questions for making the right choice

In general, we recommend remote usability tests as opposed to lab-based usability tests. This is because a moderated remote usability test can often deliver results that are at least as good as those from a more expensive lab, but with lower costs, less prep and more flexibility.

But in certain situations, it might be more advantageous to carry out a lab-based usability test. Answering the following four questions is an easy way to decide which type of testing is best for what situation.

Situations favoring a moderated lab-based usability test

If you can answer “yes” to one or more of the following questions, then a lab-based usability test may well be your best choice:

  1. Does this test require the use of eye tracking?
  2. Do you need high-resolution video documentation for later review?
  3. Do the moderator and test participant need to be in the same room?
  4. Is the test item still unstable and unpredictable, making it impractical for the test participant to operate the test computer remotely?

If all four answers are no, then we recommend (as in most cases) a moderated remote usability test.

Situations favoring a moderated remote usability test

In most situations, a moderated remote usability test is the preferred choice, especially in terms of cost-benefit ratio. In the following two situations, we’d even recommend remote testing as the superior option:

  • If the target group is poorly represented in the general populace, or is widely spread out across Germany
  • If there’s not much time left for prep, and the test needs to be done as soon as possible (still subject to the recruitment of test participants)

Comparing the two testing types

picture website


Author See author profile
Julia Gebauer
Julia
Gebauer
#ux Julia joined sum.cumo as a senior copywriter in May 2017. She is now part of the UX team as a UX writer, where she delivers text for the digital products of sum.cumo and clients. Her aim is to produce clear language that makes the use of these products as simple and comprehensible as possible, and to allow a kind of human dialogue to take shape. Julia works across projects and customers and also takes care of content, text, words and language at sum.cumo beyond web applications. Before her time as UX writer in Hamburg, Julia was involved in marketing communications for various companies: After studying literature in Germany and Italy, she worked for several years for the outdooractive.com portal and the logistics company Dachser before moving to the sporting goods industry to join Ortovox and, finally, sum.cumo. Julia appreciates her work at sum.cumo because the way people interact is “truly unique” and she can fully develop and contribute her diverse interests and talents. In addition, she appreciates being able to determine her own work and having a successful work-life balance. 
This is especially important to her because she now lives as a remote colleague in the Bavarian foothills of the Alps, where she spends every free minute in the mountains or at the lakes. She recharges her batteries with outdoor sports and nature, and otherwise she loves the sea and likes to surf, take pictures or read a good book.
 In her spare time, Julia writes for a mountain sports portal, and she publishes her travel photos on juliagebauer.com. All articles by Julia

#ux

Remote Usability Testing vs. Lab Test: Mit 4 Fragen zur richtigen Testform

Grundlegend empfehlen wir Remote Usability Tests gegenüber Usability Tests im Labor. Denn bei geringeren Kosten und kleinerem Vorbereitungsaufwand sowie größerer Flexibilität, liefern moderierte Remote Usability Tests in vielen Fällen mindestens ebenso gute Ergebnisse wie ein Usability Test im (teuren) Labor.

Unter bestimmten Umständen kann es jedoch auch von Vorteil sein, einen Usability Test im Labor durchzuführen. Anhand der folgenden vier Fragen lässt sich leicht herausfinden, welche Testform für welche Situation am besten geeignet ist.

Fälle für einen moderierten Usability Test im Labor

Falls sich eine oder mehrere der folgenden Fragen mit "Ja" beantworten lassen, könnte ein Usability Test im Labor die richtige Wahl sein:

  1. Soll beim Test Eyetracking eingesetzt werden?
  2. Müssen die später zur Verfügung gestellten Videoaufnahmen eine sehr hohe Auflösung haben?
  3. Müssen der Interviewer und der Proband am selben Ort sein?
  4. Ist das Testobjekt sehr instabil, unberechenbar und daher eine remote Steuerung des Testrechners durch den Probanden keine Option?

Falls die Antworten hier "Nein" lauten, empfehlen wir – wie in den meisten Fällen – einen moderierten Remote Usability Test.

Fälle für einen moderierten Remote Usability Test

In den meisten Situationen sind moderierte Remote Usability Tests vom Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis ohnehin zu bevorzugen. In den folgenden zwei Fällen möchten wir die remote-Variante sogar besonders empfehlen:

  • Wenn die Zielgruppe nur sehr schlecht in der Bevölkerung vertreten oder weit über Deutschland verteilt ist
  • Wenn nur wenig Zeit für die Vorbereitung bleibt, da der Test sehr zeitnah ausgeführt werden soll (Rekrutierung der Probanden vorbehalten)

Die 2 Testformen im Vergleich

picture website


Autor Zum Autor
Julia Gebauer
Julia
Gebauer
#ux Julia begann im Mai 2017 als Senior Copywriter bei sum.cumo. Mittlerweile ist sie als UX Writer Teil des UX-Teams und schreibt Texte für die digitalen Produkte von sum.cumo und der Kunden. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Nutzung dieser Produkte mit klarer Sprache so einfach und verständlich wie möglich zu gestalten und eine Art menschlichen Dialog entstehen zu lassen. Julia ist projekt- und kundenübergreifend tätig und kümmert sich auch jenseits der Web-Anwendungen um Content, Text, Worte und Sprache bei sum.cumo. Vor ihrer Zeit als UX Writer in Hamburg war Julia in der Marketing-Kommunikation verschiedener Unternehmen unterwegs: Nach dem Studium der Literaturwissenschaften in Deutschland und Italien arbeitete sie mehrere Jahre für das Portal outdooractive.com und das Logistikunternehmen Dachser, bevor sie in die Sportartikelbranche zu Ortovox und schließlich zu sum.cumo wechselte. Julia schätzt ihre Arbeit bei sum.cumo, da der persönliche Umgang miteinander "wirklich einzigartig ist" und sie ihre vielfältigen Interessen und Talente voll entfalten und einbringen kann. Außerdem weiß sie das selbstbestimmte Arbeiten und eine gelungene Work-Life-Balance zu schätzen. 
 Die ist ihr vor allem deshalb so wichtig, da sie mittlerweile als remote Kollegin wieder in den bayerischen Voralpen lebt und dort jede freie Minute in den Bergen oder an den Seen verbringt. Mit Outdoor-Sport und in der Natur lädt sie ihre Batterien wieder auf, ansonsten liebt sie das Meer und surft, fotografiert oder liest ein gutes Buch. 
In ihrer Freizeit schreibt Julia für ein Bergsport-Portal und veröffentlicht ihre Reisefotos auf juliagebauer.com. Alle Artikel von Julia